Skip to main content

Open 9.15am–4pm Mon–Thurs

25 Lefroy Street
North Hobart, Tasmania 7002

Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Sahara
Community Elder

Feeling rejected and sad.

I'm awake in the middle of the night and feeling low... the community project that I have been working on for over 3 months is falling apart and might close down completely. Yesterday, another member resigned from the project; that makes 3 resignations is the past 6 weeks or so.... these were each people who started off being very enthusiastic and positive about our project and then abruptly left it! It was like a complete turn-around in their attitudes.

The last woman who left... I felt like she was really criticizing us, saying that we "lacked direction or lacked vision." I feel so annoyed with her for saying that! I was really angry yesterday. What's even worse is that she is going to hang around and do a few things for a while (probably to keep criticizing us while she can.)

I hate to be criticized when I have put in so much work, all as a volunteer and all for the good of the community. I feel betrayed by her. Not that she was ever going to be a close friend or anything- we are too different. She was kind of bossy. 

I feel a bit better now, but just so annoyed that I am awake in the middle of the night because of her words. 

I obviously don't take criticism very well and have a lot of issues surrounding this. 

I have been madly trying to recruit new members to our project without much luck. It's only a small town and we might have exhausted the pool of volunteers! I really think that I have to find a new interest now- something that doesn't rely on other people. People only let you down. 

11 REPLIES 11